A DUI in Louisiana can increase your auto insurance premiums by up to 99% per year, on par with the national average annual percentage increase. To add to the financial burden that a DUI causes in Louisiana, you may find it more difficult to obtain auto insurance after your conviction.
Purchasing auto insurance in Louisiana is a legal requirement, so it’s important to understand how to get coverage even when your driving record includes a DUI. When looking for coverage, it can be helpful to know which carriers offer the lowest average fares. Bankrate analyzed the average premium information from Quadrant Information Services to better understand the impact on insurance rates when you have a DUI or DWI in Louisiana.
The consequences for a DUI conviction in Louisiana are severe. For your first offense, you risk a fine of $ 300 to $ 1,000. You could also be jailed for 10 days to six months. Your license may be suspended and you may be ordered to participate in a drug addiction program. This is in addition to any community service ordered by the court.
Subsequent DUI convictions increase potential fines, length of license suspension, and jail time. The specific penalties you might suffer after a DUI may depend on the circumstances of your offense. DUIs are serious offenses that caused 252 deaths in Louisiana in 2019.
How a DUI Affects Your Auto Insurance in Louisiana
A DUI in Louisiana is likely to dramatically increase your auto insurance premium, in addition to the high average cost of auto insurance in Louisiana. Without DUI, the average annual premium for full coverage in Louisiana is $ 2,724. With a DUI, the rate increases by 99% and averages out to $ 5,425 per year. This corresponds to the national average annual increase of 99% after a DUI, although the national average annual premium for full coverage is lower initially.
In addition to the increased premiums, some carriers may not insure you if you have a DUI on your record. A DUI or DWI tells insurance companies that you are a high risk driver, and there are carriers who choose not to take the risk.
Finding auto insurance after a DUI in Louisiana
If you are looking for auto insurance after a DUI in Louisiana, it may be worth comparing multiple carriers. This might not only help you know which carriers are willing to offer coverage, but you can also find out which company is best suited to your budget.
Bankrate used Quadrant Information Services to get up-to-date premium information from Louisiana’s largest insurance companies. The average annual premiums after a DUI are listed below. Premiums vary widely; this illustrates how useful it can be to get quotes from multiple companies.
Auto insurance company
Average annual premium after a DUI
These premiums are averages. Your rates can be higher or lower, as auto insurance premiums are based on a wide variety of factors, including your age, the type of vehicle you are insuring, your coverage choices, and any additional incidents on your record. driving.
Frequently Asked Questions
How will a DUI in Louisiana impact my criminal record?
Driving under the influence is illegal in Louisiana and is considered a criminal offense. In addition to the mark on your criminal record, you will likely face fines and a suspended license. You may also face other penalties, such as compulsory community service, a drug treatment program, or jail time.
What is the best auto insurance company with a DUI in Louisiana?
The best auto insurance company will vary from driver to driver, as everyone has different coverage needs and personal rating factors. You may want to start your search with carriers that are willing to insure high-risk drivers. You can then request quotes and compare factors such as rates, coverage options, and customer satisfaction ratings to determine what is best for your situation.
What happens if I drive without insurance in Louisiana?
Driving without insurance is illegal in Louisiana. If you’re caught driving without insurance, you could face fines and license suspension. If you cause an accident, you will be responsible for paying for the damages and injuries you cause out of your own pocket. If your license was suspended after a DUI, you will likely need to purchase car insurance to reinstate it. You will likely need to have an SR-22 form on file with the Louisiana Motor Vehicle Bureau. This is a form that your insurance company files to prove that you have the required insurance coverage. Without an insurance company to fill out this form, you probably won’t be able to reinstate your license.
Bankrate uses Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all zip codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, DC Rates shown are based on a 40 year old male and female driver with a clean driving record , good credit and the following. coverage limits:
$ 100,000 of civil liability per person
Civil liability of $ 300,000 per accident
Liability for property damage of $ 50,000 per accident
$ 100,000 of uninsured bodily injury by a motorist per person
$ 300,000 in uninsured bodily injury by a motorist per accident
$ 500 collision deductible
Full $ 500 deductible
To determine the minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets the requirements of each state. Our basic profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week, and cover 12,000 miles a year.
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparison purposes.
Incident: The rates were calculated by evaluating our baseline profile with the following incidents applied: blank (baseline) record, at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single DUI conviction, and lapse of coverage.